Jimmy John's fast food has been the choice of many for over thirty years. And with the conscious effort of many to stay healthy, Jimmy John's bread and vegan sandwich have become a popular choice by many vegans.
Is it really possible to eat vegan food inside a fast food restaurant with so many non-vegan ingredients available? What are some Jimmy John’s vegan options?
What is Jimmy John's?
Jimmy John Liautaud owns Jimmy John’s, and the operation of this restaurant started on January 13, 1983. Thirty-seven years later, 2,754 more fast-food restaurants opened in 43 states in the US.
Known for its cold subs, their meaty sandwiches stand out because of the french bread that they are using. They have freshly baked vegan bread at Jimmy John’s every day.
Even if they did not envision serving healthy menus when they started, they certainly evolved into a place for everyone who wants to eat.
Jimmy John's french bread is on the top of the list, and then the thick-sliced wheat bread comes second. However, one issue is that the factory making these bread may also contain eggs and milk, so cross-contamination is possible. Jimmy John's vegan menu still has this listed and as the main ingredient for their sandwich. For strict vegans, placing avocado spread or filling it with vegan cheese would be a lovely treat.
Under Jimmy John's vegan options, it is listed under number six, called Original Veggie. Within your bread, you will find cucumber, alfalfa sprouts, tomato, and avocado, which can be a bit bland since you will be leaving Provolone cheese as well as the mayo. Vegan sandwiches are easy to have at Jimmy John’s since you can make your own sandwich. You can also try their "unwich", which tastes so rich.
For toppings, there are a lot of vegetarian options. Most vegans would love to have everything that they have there and stuff it in their sandwiches.
Jimmy John's kitchen offers vegan options: celery, tomatoes, alfalfa sprouts, lettuce, onion, pickles, oregano-basil, and Jimmy peppers. As you can see, Vegan options at Jimmy John's are a lot.
Condiments - Sauces, spreads, etc
You can start with Jimmy John's avocado spread which is purely avocado with Jimmy John's salt, and then try the yellow mustard as well. The vegan condiments don't stop there as they also have Jimmy mustard and Grey Poupon, which is another variety of whole grain mustard that is vegan friendly. The regular condiments, oil, vinegar, oregano-basil seasoning mix are also available.
- Are There Vegan Options at Buffalo Wild Wings?
- Are There Vegan Options at Panda Express?
- Are There Vegan Options at In-N-Out?
When it comes to chips, Jimmy John's vegan options are also plenty, but are the Salt & Vinegar chips vegan? The salt and vinegar Jimmy chips are the only chips on their list that are not vegan-friendly since they contain dairy. However, you can still enjoy the Jalapeno Jimmy Chips, Regular Jimmy Chips, Thinny Chips, and BBQ Jimmy Chips and dip it with any of the vegan sauces and dips they have.
Apart from the Regular Jimmy Chips, Thinny chips, and all other chips that are vegan versions, you can also create your own vegan sides from the vegan toppings that they have. Salad mixes that are part of your plant-based diet can be recreated using the veggie collections they have, such as lettuce, avocado, onion, and everything else, along with the kosher dill pickle.
No. Jimmy John's cookies are non-vegan because they contain eggs and dairy. Those vegans at Jimmy John’s who want to nibble on something sweet choose just to pick a piece of bread and put some avocado spread since these are vegan friendly.
Yes, Jimmy John's pickles are vegan. There are no contents associated with animal products; therefore, this is vegan friendly. It is the perfect addition to a lettuce wrap. Instead of putting cheese or mayo on a sandwich, vegans choose to add it along with the veggie selections inside the wrap
Yes, the 9-Grain bread at Jimmy John's is vegan, which they also use for their vegan sandwich. The French bread they use for their veggie sub. Vegans are assured that Jimmy John's fast-food chains are using vegan bread for their vegetarian sandwich.
Many people these days are more conscious of the food they eat because of the many possible health consequences. Luckily, there are a lot of vegan options at Jimmy John's. If you use vegan guides (1), you wouldn't have any problems following it and staying vegan at Jimmy John's.
Jimmy John's lettuce wrap is just one way to stay healthy. Even in fast food, you can always make a vegan version using bread options with vegan cheese or other vegan-friendly ingredients. Jimmy John's is one of a kind who really wants to know how to value their customers.
Are you sure that the 9-grain bread is vegan? I've read on other sites that the 9-grain bread contains honey
Yes, I'm sure. The French bread is also vegan. If you ask for a list of ingredients, you will see it does not contain honey.