The challenges in keeping a vegan lifestyle can be pretty high, especially if you want to dine outside your homes. Buffalo Wild Wings is a casual dining restaurant, popular among sports fans. They say vegans are also very welcome there. However, as per their Nutrition Guide, no items are certified gluten-free, vegetarian, or vegan. Better safe to ask your server before placing an order.
So, are Buffalo Wild Wings vegan? Is it even possible? Here’s the answer.
What is Buffalo Wild Wings?
Its name is actually Buffalo Wild Wings & Weck because other than their famous chicken recipe, they serve beef on weck, a roasted beef specialty from New York on a caraway seed-studded roll.
It started in Ohio in 1982, and 39 years after, 1,279 locations sprouted.
Aside from their famous chicken recipe, they also serve Buffalo Chips and fried food such as fried pickles and french fries. Children will also enjoy the kids’ menu, which comes with mandarin oranges all the time.
Buffalo Wild Wings has included a disclaimer as per their Nutrition and Allergen Guide when it comes to individual menu options. The restaurant relies greatly on suppliers' information so they cannot eliminate the risk of possible cross-contamination. There is also no guarantee that your order is certified vegan, vegetarian, or gluten-free. Before placing an order, we encourage you to ask your server first.
- Garden Salad with White Wine Vinaigrette- Buffalo Wild Wings are also serving salads but, have them serve it without croutons or cheese, instead request for their delicious dips and sauces like the Lemon Vinaigrette.
- Classic Chicken Wrap- This is part of Buffalo Wings vegan option since you can ask them to remove the chicken and serve just the veggies in a wrap. To add flavor, there are dips to pair it with within their menu items.
- Everything Pretzel Knots - This would be the legit dish on their menu among all the vegan options at Buffalo Wild Wings. Ask for it to be baked to avoid cross-contamination (1) with other non-vegan options at Buffalo Wild’s and remove the queso dip on the side.
- Asian Zing Cauliflower Wings – This vegan Buffalo Wild Wings menu is best if baked to avoid cross-contamination. Request for it to be served with no ranch. It can also go well with white rice. One thing to be careful of, though, is the process of cooking. Consider having it baked to avoid contamination or the use of beef fats.
VeggL Quick Order
- Carrot Sticks/Celery Sticks - goes perfectly dipped with vegan sauces listed on their menu.
- White Rice - these are not available on any of the BWW restaurants in the US except Hawaii.
- Soft Pretzel (order with no cheese and butter)
- Salsa -order this along with the veggie boat since the mixture of flavors works great with this dip.
Vegan Sauces / Dressing
- Salt & Vinegar Seasoning
- Desert Heat Seasoning (lemon-pepper infused)
- Asian Zing Sauce
- Chipotle BBQ Seasoning
- Sweet BBQ Sauce
Vegan Options To Try at Buffalo Wings
Big Twist Pretzel (without Queso)
Like Everything Pretzel Knots-the core of this soft pretzel is plant-based. Therefore it is one of the options at Buffalo Wild Wings. Kids can eat these, too, along with a mandarin orange. You can still eat vegan at Buffalo Wild Wings by requesting to omit components that are not part of your diet.
Side Salad (without Cheese or Croutons)
They have a flavorful side salad which is exactly what vegan guides recommend except for the non-vegan contents. Order it with dashes of Lemon, Pepper, Seasoning, Salt, or use lemon vinaigrette. You can add avocado to add more flavor.
Wrap or Buffalito
Another vegan option at Buffalo Wild Wings is the Chicken wrap minus the chicken, sour cream, and cheese. Instead, request for them to replace those with part of your diet ingredients. Have them put home-made pico de gallo, lettuce, and dry seasoning, or choose from their vegan-friendly sauces available.
No, Buffalo Wild Wings’ Chips & Salsa are not vegan because the chips are fried using beef shortening. The same with all other fried foods available at BWW, such as Buffalo Wild Wings’ fries, onion rings, and tortilla chips. All these are cooked using beef fat when fried.
Buffalo Wild Wings is not really a vegan-friendly restaurant. Most of their dishes are fried in beef shortening. But you may find some Buffalo Wild Wings vegan options. Vegan fans can enjoy their delicious meals dipped in Sweet BBQ Sauce, Teriyaki Sauce, Chipotle BBQ Seasoning, Desert Heat Seasoning, or just plain honey mustard. There are also mixed drinks everyone can enjoy, as they have vegan drink options like the Blackberry Izze Sparkling Juice.
You have to take note, though, that the company cannot guarantee that these options are certified vegan. Always ask your servers to be on the safe side. Just a matter of finding the right vegan food for you.
Hey there! The black bean patty actually contains egg so it would not be vegan.
Hi Hannah, thanks for the correction. I specifically asked! Ugh! Looks like I asked the wrong person. I will make the correction. Thanks again for the head's up.