Del Taco, first opened in 1964, specializes in serving delicious American-Mexican dishes. They are most famous for inclusivity in their menu, serving a wide range of vegan and vegetarian options.
So, are there Del Taco vegan options?
Del Taco: Vegan Or Not?
Del Taco announced that they were partnering with Beyond Meat in 2019, which makes 100 percent plant-based vegan meat. This brave step was one of the firsts in the fast-food industry and was done to drastically improve vegan options for vegan Del Taco customers.
Vegan Options For You To Try
Epic Beyond Original Mex Burrito
The Epic Beyond Mex Burrito is one of the best vegan options at Del Taco. The Epic Beyond fresh burrito is a whopping one pound of seasoned Beyond Meat crumbles, cilantro-lime rice, pico de gallo, and fresh guacamole.
Beyond 8 Layer Burrito
The Beyond 8 Layer Burrito is packed with eight layers of goodness, starting with Beyond Meat crumbles, beans, guacamole, fresh diced tomatoes, crisp lettuce, red sauce, cheddar cheese, and sour cream. Vegans should opt-out of cheese and sour cream
8 Layer Veggie Burrito
The 8 Layer Veggie Burrito is layered exactly like the Beyond 8 Layer Burrito, but instead of using ground Beyond Meat plant-based meat, this dish uses lime rice instead for an equally delicious beyond fresh avocado burrito. Ask the staff to omit sour cream or better yet, make your own healthy vegan burrito bowl!
½ lb Bean Cheese Burrito
The ½ lb Bean Cheese Burrito is perfect for vegans with a small appetite. Simply swap the cheese with guacamole. You can also choose between their zesty red sauce or tangy green sauce to pour over your burrito.
Jacked Up Value Bean, Rice, Cheese Burrito
You don’t have to spend a ton of money to have a great meal! This burrito is made with slow-cooked beans, lime rice, green sauce, and spicy jack cheese, cocooned in a warm flour tortilla. Make this meal vegan by swapping out the cheese with guacamole.
Beyond Avocado Taco
Del Taco’s signature crunchy shell is filled with seasoned Beyond Meat plant-based crumbles, crisp lettuce, diced tomatoes, and avocado slices in the Beyond Guacamole Taco.
Another variation to the Beyond Avocado Taco is their Beyond Taco, which substitutes the fresh avocado slices with cheddar cheese instead. Opt-out of the cheese for a vegan value taco.
The Del Taco
The iconic namesake of the fast-food restaurant can be made vegan by swapping out the seasoned beef with seasoned Beyond Meat plant-based crumbles and adding slow-cooked pinto beans. You also have the option to choose between a crunchy taco shell or a soft flour tortilla.
The Street Taco mimics the classic Southern California taco with its flavorful carne asada, but this can be swapped with seasoned black beans or Beyond Meat crumbles (or both!) for a vegan take. It’s a mix of roasted chile salsa, sliced avocado, fresh chopped cilantro, and diced onions served in two corn tortillas.
Del Taco’s Crinkle Cut Fries are vegan; they use only premium vegetable oil for frying.
Hash Brown Sticks
Hash Brown Sticks, a go-to breakfast item, are also certified vegan.
Bean and Cheese Cup
Order this dish without cheese and pair it with chips. You can also swap the beans with guacamole or pico de gallo.
Avocado Veggie Bowl
The vegan Avocado Veggie Bowl starts with cilantro lime rice, topped with sliced avocado, seasoned black beans, fresh diced tomatoes, diced onions, and fresh romaine and iceberg lettuce blend.
The Crunchtada Tostada is built with slow-cooked beans, signature Salsa Casera, and crisp lettuce on top of a wavy crunchy shell. We highly recommend either adding guacamole as a replacement for cheese.
Signature Taco Salad
The Signature Taco Salad is made with beef, cheddar cheese, guacamole, black beans, pico de gallo, cilantro, and sour cream, layered over fresh romaine and iceberg lettuce blend. Swap the meat with Beyond Meat crumbles and remove the sour cream for a vegan value taco.
Many of Del Taco’s sauces are vegan approved, here’s the full list:
- Cilantro Sauce
- Pico de Gallo Salsa
- Green Sauce
- Red Sauce
- Hot sauce
- Salsa Casera
- Taco Sauce
- California Chili Sauce
The fountain drinks at Del Taco are vegan-friendly! Here are your options:
- Gold Peak Iced Tea
- Diet Coke
- Coca-Cola Cherry
- Barq's Root Beer
- Minute Maid ZeroSugar Lemonade
- Hi-C Flashin' Fruit Punch
- Fanta Orange
- Fuze Raspberry Tea
Unfortunately, no, the churros in Del Taco are not vegan. Their churros recipe contains milk and eggs, and it’s a shame because they’re so good! 
As of writing, no, Del Taco does not offer non-dairy cheese on their menu. Who knows, though? The Mexican fast-food chain has been welcoming of offering plant-based meat in their menu, so we might see this soon!
No. All of the desserts in Del Taco’s menu contain milk and eggs, which means there are no vegan desserts available.
So, Is Del Taco Vegan?
We’re happy to report that Del Taco is one of the best vegan options in the fast-food industry today. Due to their many offerings, vegans are assured of a different yet delicious experience each time they eat vegan at Del Taco.