Maple sap is made into pure maple syrup and is reduced through reverse osmosis. That is the basic process. While this product makes everyone's breakfast extra special, many are still asking - is maple syrup vegan?
What Is Maple Syrup?
Maple syrup is a tasty syrup that originates from the sap of black maple, red maple, or sugar maple tree. Sometimes it’s called pancake syrup.
Vegans use maple syrup provided that these are pure maple syrup, and no other non-vegan ingredients were added during the manufacturing process.
Most maple syrup use plant-based ingredients, even those commercially made.
A specific maple syrup company like Kirkland Maple Syrup is known to be vegan friendly. Maple Grove Farms syrup's products are also pure maple syrup. There are other names that are trusted by many vegans, just make sure to check them out first.
What Are Its Benefits?
Natural maple syrup is filled with helpful content with many health benefits compared to food with animal fats.
Compared to milk-derived products, it is also far too superior since these are combating multiple diseases and are proven with it.
Real maple syrup is needed in a vegan diet as these are considered healthier than regular sweeteners. Vegan maple syrup, similar to corn syrup, is very nutritious apart from being a delicious syrup.
This can also replace real honey as a sweetener since the sugar content is almost the same.
However, higher consumption will not be providing those benefits since everything should be in moderation.
Pick a certified organic maple syrup to get these benefits:
- Riboflavin or vitamin B is good for cellular respiration and metabolic processes
- Antioxidants that have protective value and aids the body from cancer-inducing factors and diabetes
- High in Manganese content for brain function
- High content of Zinc to boost the immune system
- Potassium to lower chances of hypertension and chances of stroke
- Low in glycemic index(1) than regular sweetener
"When you truly understand that your food choices are powerful and life-affirming, you can exercise control and restraint without deprivation."-Marlene Adelmann, Founder and Director of the Herbal Academy
Ingredients That Make Maple Syrup Non-Vegan
Table sugar or any other sugar types that go through refineries are considered not vegan because of the char of bones.
Manufacturers use this to achieve the color they want for their products.
Though modern technologies are replacing this method, there are still a good number of them practicing this.
High fructose corn syrup is very similar to sugar, and both are not vegan-friendly.
Dairy milk is derived from cows or buffalos, which are animals.
There is toned milk, double toned milk, full cream milk, skimmed milk, standardized milk, cow's or buffalo's, sheep's or goat's milk, or any combination.
Another popular choice is flavored milk which is either nuts or any other edible flavors and is pasteurized, sterilized, or boiled, which will be stated on the label.
They also use animal fat with milk and turn it into butter. For vegans, we recommend cashew milk or almond milk.
Both natural and artificial flavors are synthesized in laboratories that are mixed in a maple product by some manufacturers.
Even the labeled natural flavors are mixed with other ingredients from animals or are harming animals upon its production.
They are not required to thoroughly label what the mixtures are unless these are causing allergies, such as nuts or seafood products.
However, they are now required to state if these are plant-based or not for vegan use.
Some colors are from carmine, which comes from beetles, making it not vegan.
Animal products like animal fat are very common additives to commercial production, making it appear as if you are eating lard.
Some commercial products add these to enhance appearance because they have different results than sap coming from maple trees.
Guanine is derived from the scales of fish for iridescent effect and a lot more.
The good news is that many companies are producing vegan syrup that is free from animal products.
10 Maple Syrup Brands For Vegans
If you compare the health value of honey and maple syrup, the latter is more on nutrients and is also a choice of vegan individuals.
There is, of course, vegan honey, but if the other choice is organic maple syrup, then it is an outright yes.
Yes, vegan maple syrup is good for diabetic individuals because it has a low glycemic index.
This is a good substitute for sugar as they make the mixture nice and consistent and make the flavor even.
Yes. It is considered to be a better option because of the low glycemic index. Maple syrups are now made as an alternative or sugar substitute.
So, Can Vegans Eat Maple Syrup?
Yes, vegans can eat maple syrup because it is vegan-friendly. You can enjoy your pancake syrups and continue to consume a plant-based diet.
Many maple syrup producers use fruits from maple trees and produce maple syrup made of black maple and red maple. They are tapping trees and then using xylem sap and density adjustment and turning it into a syrup vegan.
So, let’s be sure. Is maple syrup vegan? Yes, the healthy vegan maple syrup from the maple tree is indeed vegan. Avoid fake maple syrup and continue with your green choice by reading the label and choosing only vegan maple syrup brands.