As a new vegan (and even those who are more seasoned), you may have found yourself pacing up and down the snack aisle in the supermarket, wondering which chips exactly are approved for your vegan diet.
We’re here to take the guesswork out of choosing your snacks, starting with one of the most popular chips: Pringles. Is the Pringles brand vegan? Which are vegan-friendly Pringles flavors? Let’s find out!
Are Pringles Vegan or Not?
If you’re like most people, you may have experienced eating a whole can of Pringles by yourself. Yup. They’re just that good and tasty. Each Pringle potato chip is delightfully crispy and seasoned just right with powder flavor. Oh, and did we mention the unique texture Pringle chips come in? We have yet to find other chips that mimic Pringles ridges!
Right off the bat, the Pringles chips themselves are completely vegan-friendly. The potato-based snack is made with 42 percent dehydrated potatoes, rice flour, wheat starch, yeast powder, yeast extract, vegetable oils, a corn flour emulsifier, mono and diglycerides (fatty acids), natural and artificial flavors, and salt -- no animal derived ingredients and dairy.
They become unsafe for vegans, though, in their flavoring, which we’ll closely scrutinize below.
Pringles Vegan Flavors
Original Pringles are vegan, so this is a safe option for you to pick up from the snack aisle. This Pringles Original flavor is also one of the most popular and highly sought-after flavors.
The Wavy Classic Salted are vegan Pringles. These wavy chips are made from dried potatoes, vegetable oil, cornstarch, rice flour, corn flour, salt, and wheat starch without visible animal products.
We believe that all chips should have a variety in flavor, so the company carries the Paprika flavor for spicy lovers. These vegan Pringles are generously sprinkled with their signature paprika powder.
Another great option for those who want something spicy is the Salsa De Chile Habanero. However, these are a limited edition, so grab these vegan Pringles while you can! They have a potent cayenne pepper taste with a serious habanero kick, perfect for the vegan spicy food lover.
This tastes just like the Original variant, only less salty. We didn’t enjoy the Lightly Salted Original Pringles as much as it was a bit too lacking in flavor and taste, but hey, if you’re a vegan watching your salt intake, this is your best vegan Pringles option in the market.
The brand boasts 25 percent less fat than other leading chips with the Reduced-Fat Original Pringles. Honestly, we couldn’t tell the difference between this and the original variant, and that 25 percent gives us the impression that we’re eating healthy. Plus, this is another option for vegan Pringles, so nothing but wins here.
Don’t ask us how the Kickin’ Chicken Taco is vegan friendly when the word chicken is clearly on the product label, but yes, this variant is 100 percent vegan and shows no traces of chicken in the ingredient list. If you don’t believe us, here is the full ingredients list for your viewing:
- Dried potatoes
- Vegetable oil
- Degerminated yellow corn flour
- Rice flour
- Mono and diglycerides
- Tomato powder
- Natural and Artificial flavors
- Monosodium glutamate
- Sodium diacetate
- Onion powder
- Yeast extract
- Paprika extract
- Citric acid
- Wheat starch
The only ingredient that may be of question is the “natural and artificial flavors,” but those tend to be plant-based when not labeled specifically in the product packaging.
Another curiosity -- Smokey Bacon Pringles is surprisingly safe for vegans to eat. The only controversial ingredients in this list were caramel color and natural smoke flavor, which upon heavy research, we found out were made with absolutely no animal products.
Pringles tried their best to infuse the taste of Asia to one of their variants, which they did so quite successfully with the Wasabi and Soy Sauce flavor. The unique and tasteful wasabi and soy sauce potato crisps is certified vegan.
The first thing we noticed about Pringles Sriracha Asian Chili Sauce was the impressive fire-breathing dragon in front, which made us expect nothing less than a strong, fiery kick at first bite. Boy, these did not disappoint! If you’re vegan and a big fan of the sriracha flavor, you’d definitely enjoy snacking out of these cans.
Why Other Flavors Aren’t Vegan
While there are plenty of vegan Pringles, non-vegan variants will still outnumber them. Most Pringles flavors contain massive amounts of dairy, the most popular of which is milk-derived lactose, buttermilk, nonfat milk, and cheese cultures. Two of their best-selling flavors, Sour Cream Onion and Salt Vinegar, have lactose.
Here is the full list of non-vegan Pringles flavors:
- Pringles Ranch
- Pringles Salt Vinegar
- Pringles Sour Cream Onion
- Pringles Screamin’ Dill Pickle
- Pringles Buffalo Ranch
- Pringles Roast Chicken and Herbs
- Pringles Extra Hot (contains whey)
- Pringles Wavy Applewood Smoked Cheddar
- Pringles Rice Fusions
No. Not all Pringles flavors are dairy-free; some contain milk (like the Sour Cream Onion). The only way you can be certain whether or not the Pringles variant you’re eyeing is dairy-free is to check the ingredient list closely.
No. In an official Tweet from the Pringles UK & Ireland account (@Pringles_UK), they have released that they do not use palm oil in cooking the chips, nor do the chips have palm oil.  They use a blend of high oleic sunflower oil, sunflower oil, and corn oil instead.
Not really. Nothing in excess is considered healthy, and Pringles potato chips fall under the same narrative. These are still considered junk food and loaded with many artificial flavors, seasonings, and a high amount of sodium that would be bad for everyone.  It’s best to eat just a few chips from the can and save the rest next time. Try sweet potato chips instead.
So, Are Pringles Vegan?
Yes, the Pringle chip itself is vegan. The vegans start having problems when the chips are flavored, as most flavorings contain dairy products like lactose, whey, and cheddar cheese cultures. Still, this chip brand's vegan options are extremely versatile and delicious, so we don’t really feel like we’re missing out on anything.